The IBM Destination z community is pleased to announce the winners of the annual IBM Destination z Enterprise Computing Scholarship for 2016. To be considered for this scholarship, students must have demonstrated excellence in their enterprise computing coursework, with plans for continued growth on the mainframe platform in their academic and professional careers and attend a post-secondary school in the U.S. that’s both a member of the IBM Academic Initiative and Destination z. A list of member schools is available here. Schools can register by filling out a form on
This year’s field of applicants was extremely talented, making the judges' decisions difficult. The winners of the 2016 scholarship, chosen by a panel of representatives in the mainframe community, are:
Jeremy Delossantos, West Texas A&M University
Derek Garrity, Northern Illinois University
Ari Kenney, University of California, Berkeley
James O’Brien, Marist College
Shikandar Hoque, Touro College
Congratulations to all of these scholarship winners, and best wishes for their continued academic success. Special thanks to all of the Destination z sponsors—IBM, Innovation Data Processing, Rocket Software and Vicom Infinity—who made this scholarship program possible.
The Destination z community looks forward to continuing to encourage the next generation of enterprise systems professionals. If you’d like to become involved in the Destination z Enterprise Computing Scholarship as a sponsor, please email Troy Crutcher or learn more here